EGBL - About us

SEASON 2021/2022
Reglament 2021/2022
SEASON 2020/2021 - Canceled
Contacts 2019/2020
Basketball Camp in Latvia
Olympic stars of EGBL
About us
S E A S O N 2019/2020
U 13
U 14
U 15
U 17 Division 1
U 17 Division 2
U 19
Season 2018 / 2019
U 13
U 14
U 16 Division 1
U 16 Division 2
U 18
SEASON 2017/2018
U 12
U 13
U 15
U 17
U 19
SEASON 2016/2017
U 12
U 14
U 16
U 18
SEASON 2015/2016
U 15
U 17
U 19
SEASON 2014/2015
SEASON 2013/2014
SEASON 2012/2013
SEASON 2011/2012
Archive seasons 2000-2011

 girls and boys
 basketball leagues  

 Year 2000 was special with the fact that exactly when the Olympic Games took place in Sydney, a new sports event was found – Eastern European Girls Basketball League (EEGBL), it was established in September 19. The beginning of the season 2014/2015, the league title has been changed to a new - European Girls Basketball League.

In the first year the best teams from 6 countries took place in EGBL, the best girls teams from Poland (Sokolov Podlaski UKS Olimp, Koszalin UKS 16), Byelorussia (Minsk Horizont), Lithuania (Kaunas and Vilnius basketball schools and basketball club Laisve), Estonia (Tartu Taba - 89), Russia (Moscow Spartak) and sports school Ridzene and Basketball club Kolibri from Riga - Latvia participated in the first season EEGBL.

EEGBL have its own president of honor – Uljana Semjonova, she was the leading women's basketball player in the world in the 1970s and 1980s. For almost all of her playing career, she played for TTT Riga, which was part of Daugava Voluntary Sports Society. With TTT, she won 15 championships in the Soviet Union and the European Champions Cup 15 times. Semjonova was also very dominant in international play, winning two Olympic Gold medals while playing for the USSR in 1976 and 1980 and never lost a game in official international competition. She was awarded the Order of the Red Banner of Labour in 1976, in 1993 became the first non-US woman enshrined into the Basketball Hall of Fame.  She was an inaugural member of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in the class of 1999.  In 2007, she was enshrined in the FIBA Hall of Fame.

In opening of EEGBL participated:

The honor president EEGBL Uljana Semjonova (Latvia),
The president of EEGBL Igo Zanders (Latvia),
The vice-president EEGBL Darius Tvardauskas (Lithuania),
The vice-president of Lithuanian basketball federation Algis Pushinaitis (Lithuania).
The president of Latvian women basketball league Ingrida Udre (Latvia),
The president of North European youth basketball league Guntis Shenhofs (Latvia).

       This year, it is already the 18 season, there are participating the best girls teams from 17 countries, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Estonia, Slovakia , Netherlands, Belarus, Poland, Ukraine, Russia ,Italy ,Belgium ,Luxemburg , Serbia , Czech Republic and Latvia.

    Season 2017/2018 EGBL will start participating girls born in 2006  and the league will be open for new participating countrie – NORWAY.

      These 17 years have been an amazing experience for me, as a president of EGBL, also for coaches and girls what we have seen growing professionally – from kids to professional basketball players.

Only together we can make this happen also in future, so I would like to thank everyone who has helped to make these 18 basketball seasons in a high and professional basketball level, also thank you to everybody who believes this leagues strength to make our  European little basketball world better.

Igo Zanders - President of EGBL  

Refrigerant gas R410a R134A R404A R32